Skip to content

Can veterans receive both DVA compensation and CSC benefits?

Published

Yes. A veteran may be entitled to both DVA compensation and a benefit administered by the Commonwealth Superannuation Corporation because the systems apply different eligibility tests.

DVA generally considers whether an injury or disease is related to Australian Defence Force service and what treatment, rehabilitation or compensation follows. CSC considers the member’s entitlement under the relevant military superannuation arrangements, including whether retiring impairments reduce the member’s capacity for appropriate civilian employment.

However, being eligible under both systems does not necessarily mean the veteran receives the full amount of every payment independently. The interaction depends on whether the DVA entitlement is permanent impairment compensation, incapacity payments, a VEA payment or another benefit.

DVA and CSC answer different questions

A DVA liability decision asks whether an injury or disease is connected to defence service under the applicable legislation. Once liability is accepted, the veteran may become eligible for treatment, rehabilitation, incapacity payments or permanent impairment compensation.

DVA permanent impairment compensation addresses non-economic loss arising from accepted service-related conditions. It considers the resulting medical impairment and lifestyle effects.

CSC invalidity assessment does not use DVA impairment points or require the condition to be accepted by DVA. CSC considers the skills, qualifications and employment experience of the member, the civilian occupations they could reasonably undertake and how the retiring impairments affect their capacity for that work.

This means a DVA acceptance does not guarantee a Class A or Class B CSC classification. Similarly, receiving an invalidity pension does not automatically establish that DVA must accept the underlying condition as service-related.

Which DVA payments can be affected by CSC benefits?

The most significant interaction generally concerns DVA incapacity payments.

DVA incapacity payments compensate for economic loss where an accepted service-related condition prevents or reduces the veteran’s capacity to work. The amount is generally calculated by comparing the veteran’s normal earnings with their actual earnings or ability to earn.

Commonwealth-funded superannuation payments are taken into account when DVA calculates incapacity payments. DVA states that incapacity payments are reduced by Commonwealth superannuation payments, including relevant pension and lump-sum benefits.

The Commonwealth-funded portion of a superannuation pension is generally converted to a weekly amount and deducted dollar for dollar from the incapacity payment. Where a relevant lump-sum superannuation benefit is received, DVA may convert the Commonwealth-funded portion into a weekly equivalent before applying the reduction.

A veteran may therefore receive both an invalidity pension and DVA incapacity payments, but the CSC benefit may reduce the amount DVA pays.

Are permanent impairment payments reduced by a CSC pension?

DVA permanent impairment compensation and CSC invalidity benefits compensate for different matters.

Permanent impairment compensation under the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004 addresses permanent impairment and lifestyle restrictions caused by accepted service-related conditions. A CSC invalidity benefit concerns incapacity for appropriate civilian employment under the member’s superannuation arrangements.

The Commonwealth-superannuation reduction described by DVA is directed principally to incapacity payments, which compensate for economic loss. A CSC invalidity benefit does not automatically prevent a veteran from receiving DVA permanent impairment compensation.

However, the veteran’s complete payment history should still be checked. Different offsetting or recovery provisions may apply where earlier compensation, VEA payments, incapacity payments or retrospective CSC arrears are involved. DVA distinguishes the superannuation reduction applied to incapacity payments from other forms of compensation offsetting.

What happens with retrospective CSC arrears?

A retrospective CSC decision can create a significant interaction with DVA.

If CSC retrospectively awards a Class A or Class B invalidity pension for a period during which the veteran received DVA incapacity payments, DVA may recalculate those incapacity payments as though the superannuation reduction had applied at the time.

This can create an overpayment. DVA may recover that amount directly from the CSC arrears before any balance is released to the veteran. If the CSC arrears are insufficient to satisfy the full overpayment, the veteran may remain liable for a separate DVA debt.

The arrears figure shown by CSC should therefore not be assumed to be the amount the veteran will receive personally. Tax may be withheld, DVA may claim against the arrears and the veteran may need to address earlier tax assessments. A retrospective payment may also affect Services Australia and child-support obligations.

How do the CSC schemes differ?

The form and calculation of the CSC benefit depend on the member’s scheme.

For DFRDB members, a Class A invalidity benefit is generally calculated at 76.5% of annual salary for superannuation purposes. A Class B benefit is generally calculated at 38.25%, although the percentage can differ for members with at least 23 years of effective service.

For MilitarySuper members, Class A or Class B generally results in the Employer Benefit being paid fortnightly. That Employer Benefit cannot be converted into a lump sum. Member and Ancillary Benefits are separate components and may be subject to preservation, rollover and release rules.

Eligible ADF Cover members who receive a Class A or Class B classification may receive an annual invalidity benefit calculated using recognised salary, qualifying service, prospective service to age 60 and the applicable incapacity factor.

The effect of a military super pension and DVA payment should therefore be assessed using the member’s actual CSC scheme and benefit, not a general estimate.

Why should the evidence be coordinated?

The medical evidence supporting DVA and CSC claims may overlap, but it must address different tests.

For DVA, evidence may need to establish the diagnosis, the relationship between the condition and defence service, the resulting work incapacity or the degree of permanent impairment.

For CSC, evidence should explain how the retiring impairments affect the member’s capacity for appropriate civilian employment, having regard to their skills, qualifications and experience. CSC’s assessment is not limited to whether the member can return to their ADF role.

The descriptions of symptoms, onset, treatment and work capacity should remain accurate and consistent across both processes. Differences may be entirely legitimate because the schemes ask different questions, but unexplained inconsistencies can create difficulty.

  • Confirm the diagnoses and conditions relevant to each claim.
  • Prepare a dated chronology of service, symptoms, treatment and employment.
  • Identify which conditions DVA has accepted as service-related.
  • Identify which conditions CSC treats as retiring impairments.
  • Ask medical practitioners to address the particular test applied by each decision-maker.
  • Keep copies of DVA decisions, CSC estimates, classification notices and payment calculations.
  • Check the potential effect of CSC payments on DVA incapacity payments before relying on gross figures.

Can DVA, CSC and TPD claims run at the same time?

Potentially. DVA and CSC claims, together with a private total and permanent disability claim, may progress at the same time because each can involve different eligibility definitions.

DVA considers service connection and the particular compensation claimed. CSC assesses invalidity entitlement under the relevant military superannuation scheme. A private insurer applies the definition contained in the relevant insurance policy.

Success under one pathway does not automatically prove entitlement under another. However, medical, employment and functional evidence produced for one claim may be relevant to the others.

Before accepting a settlement or making an election, check whether the payment creates an offset, repayment obligation, tax consequence or disclosure requirement elsewhere.

Will success in one claim prove the others?

No. A DVA acceptance establishes that the condition satisfied the applicable service-connection requirements. It does not determine incapacity for civilian employment under CSC scheme rules.

Likewise, a CSC Class A or Class B outcome may support evidence of reduced work capacity, but it does not establish DVA liability or determine DVA impairment points.

A private insurer may apply a different definition again. Some policies consider whether the person can work in their usual occupation, while others consider any occupation for which the person is reasonably suited. The applicable definition must be checked before conclusions are drawn from another decision.

What should be checked in the payment calculations?

Where a veteran receives an invalidity pension and DVA incapacity payments, check whether DVA has used the correct Commonwealth-funded superannuation amount and converted any lump-sum component correctly.

The calculation should identify:

  • the DVA normal-earnings figure;
  • the veteran’s actual earnings or ability to earn;
  • the relevant CSC pension or lump-sum amount;
  • the Commonwealth-funded portion used;
  • the weekly equivalent applied by DVA;
  • the period covered by any arrears;
  • any overpayment recovered from CSC; and
  • any remaining debt said to be payable by the veteran.

The gross CSC arrears, net arrears after tax and amount released after DVA recovery can be materially different. Each figure should be identified before the veteran makes financial commitments based on an expected payment.

Before accepting a DVA or CSC decision

A veteran may receive both veteran compensation and military superannuation benefits, but each entitlement should be considered within the complete payment picture.

KSC Law can review DVA and CSC claims, including the DVA liability or compensation decision, CSC invalidity classification and any incapacity-payment reduction. We can identify whether the correct medical and vocational tests were applied and whether the military super pension and DVA calculations appear to account correctly for payments, arrears and offsets.

Speak With Our Team

You do not need to know the correct legal terminology. That part is our job.

About KSC Law

Australia’s #1 veteran law firm, built around the Defence community.

Our team brings more than 20 years’ experience helping current and former ADF members and their families navigate claims, decisions and entitlements arising from service.

Learn more about KSC Law

Easy ways to get in touch

Not sure where to start? You do not need to know the correct legal terminology. That part is our job.

You do not need to have everything worked out before reaching out. Start a free claim check, call us or send us a message to connect with our veteran-founded legal team. We will listen, understand what is happening and help you work out what comes next.

Locations

We're here to help, wherever you are in Australia.

Online by design: meetings, documents and updates are handled securely online to fit around your life.

Head officeLevel 34/1 Eagle StBrisbane City QLD 4000
CallSpeak With Our Team